Choosing Sides

I’ll have three of my favorite girls standing up with me. Shamrock will have two of his favorite guys standing up with him, and one of mine.

But how do you choose? There are a lot of rules thrown around out there, and it’s tough to know which ones you need to listen to.

mary7_1_1

Photo by a friend, BFF & me at Pledge Baby’s Wedding ages ago (we basically look the same)

“Rules” We’re Following:

Boys with Boy, Girls with Girl

My BFF will be standing up on Shamrock’s side instead of mine. In our case, it isn’t because I didn’t want to mix genders. BFF and I have been friends since we were 16. Obviously he would be in my wedding. I really wanted all three of my girls and my BFF, and Shamrock only had his brother and his best friend. BFF has always assumed he would be in my wedding, standing up on my grooms side–so this way just worked best for all three of us.

Keep It Even

We’ve got three people per side, so we’ll look nice & balanced. (Hahaha…yeah right.) I cracked up reading Mrs. Jackrabbit’s Family Pictures post. MOH Sis, Shamrock and I are pretty short, Brother Shamrock is average, and everyone else is brushing 6 foot or over (yep, including my girls). I obviously didn’t pick my friends for photos, and I’m not worried about this at all, but the pictures are going to be pretty funny.

“Rules” We Skipped:

Siblings Rule

You know who won’t be standing up? Either of Shamrock’s sisters. One I’ve only met once, and the other is the mother of our flower girl and ring bearer. Shamrock didn’t stand up in her wedding, so it wasn’t a big deal for us–they’ll be invited to the rehearsal dinner, and we may find other roles for them.

Blood Trumps All

Ok, so this one is half and half. I never considered anyone but Sis to be my MOH (she knew right away, but waited til I asked–the day before our four day drive cross country*). Shamrock’s brother will be standing with him, but his best friend is his Best Man. (Ok, Shamrock was married before and his brother was Best Man then, so I’m not sure this counts.)

MiniSissys

Little Clovers in Tahoe. Photo by some relative or another, I’m sure, courtesy of MOH Sis

Spot for Spot

If you’ve stood up in someone else’s wedding, they don’t have to be in yours. I’ve mentioned before that I’ve been a Maid of Honor twice, but neither girl is invited to our wedding. This definitely hurts, as I assumed for a long time the two of them would be my ‘maids but some things just aren’t meant to be. Don’t feel like you have ask everyone to stand up who asked you–BM Blondie has been in six weddings, and her sister isn’t married yet!

How did you choose who stands by your side on your wedding day? Any of these “rules” you broke?

*Shamrock knew I was going to give her the cute little box the night before we left to drive from Milwaukee to California. That night he asked if she said yes. MOH Sis overheard and yelled, “Nope, and it was a really awkward ten hours in the car!”

Leave a Reply

