Choose Your Own Adventure: Invitations Edition

I’ve done a lot of talk about our invitations, but I really need to get a move on. We determined we’ll need three pieces (Invite, Reception card, RSVP card) and next we’ll decide on sizes (serious advice: base it on the envelope–actually, read Mrs. Cupcake’s whole post if you you’re doing your own invites) and what specifically goes on each piece.

I still want some cut clovers too–a punch would be ideal but I can’t seem to find it. Then Shamrock came through with a cutting plate for Christmas (in all my obsessive searching, I never found it–guess it was on eBay), although it makes a set of little baby ones. I had a super sweet hive member reach out and say she might be able to help me with some cutting, and I’m even considering getting myself a Silhouette or a Cricut (thanks a lot Miss Phone Booth). I really only want it to cut a pile of clovers to close bellybands though, so it still might be excessive.

P1020140

Personal photo

Now what? In true Clover fashion, I made up some questions, and then I answered them (and then I ran the answers by Shamrock, just for good measure).

What size should the invitation be? (This guide is really comprehensive, but I liked Paper Source‘s for its nice visuals) A typical size is 5 x 7, but square are also popular, and different dimensions make a nice statement with some designs.

What style should it be? Pocketfold, stacked cards, same size cards, something different?

Red-Brown-Damask-Stripe-Dot-Pocketfold-Wedding-Invitations-1024x647

Pocketfold Invitation via emDOTzee Designs

jaguarinvite

Mrs. Jaguar’s traditional wedding invitations

invitation4

Mrs. Joey’s poster-sized invitation (that’s her table under there)

What pieces do we want? This guide was pretty helpful. You need the invite, then you can also have enclosures for: Reception, Response, Accommodations, Directions, Things to Do, Rehearsal Dinner invite. Also, you can do an inner envelope too. (Somewhat unrelated, but you may also want to think about thank you notes, table numbers, programs and place cards here if you’d like them all to tie together.)

Do we want a vertical or horizontal orientation?

How do we plan on embellishing the invitation? Embossing? Cutting? (I can’t use a punch, but if you had one in your shape that could be a great option, and you could also stamp & heat emboss if you’re looking for ways to add some extra to your invites.) This step is definitely optional, but as someone who makes cards, it’s a requirement for me–this is the part I’m good at!

Winterthanks.jpg

You can see the texture on the paper in this card. Personal photo.

Some of the things above can really add expense to your invitations, which is important to keep in mind if you’re DIYing to keep costs down. Pocketfolds are probably going to add at least $1 per invite between the actual pocketfold and the additional postage. Buying a heat embosser, stamp, ink pad & embossing powder will run you maybe $40. And if you want to letterpress (or just emboss like me)? You need to buy a Cuttlebug. If you already have some of those supplies (or really truly wanted them and will use them after the wedding–don’t lie to yourself here!) then you’re well on your way. And also, your time is worth something.

I actually would say my time is worth a fair amount, but I love working with paper. Shamrock & Mama Clover are ready to help too. And that isn’t even my secret weapon–I’ve got a whole team of people who are ready to craft with me!

Oh, and our answers? 5 x 7, stacked cards (invite, reception, response, directions) with a band, probably vertical but horizontal is an option, and I just have to have the embossing. Up next, the design!

Did you make your own invitations? What did you do?

Leave a Reply

